How do you do Esmeralda?

Joan Bassey
2 min readAug 3, 2024

--

...the sky wouldn't be clear enough to see you.
Photo credit: Pinterest

I do not know if my letters ever get to you but I’ll keep writing them 'cause for the time being, the sky wouldn’t be clear enough to see you. So I’m writing to you again my Esme. I’m writing to tell you that I miss you. I’m writing to tell you that I wish I was there with you. I’m writing Esmeralda to ask how you do. I know I wouldn’t get an answer. I didn’t get answers in previous occasions. Although I’m hoping that one day they’ll come to me or will I continue to be restless for eternity?
I want to know if you signed up for the salsa classes you always talked about. How’s it going? Has it been easy finding a perfect dance partner or should I come down and help you?

Anyway, when you’re stage-ready do not forget to invite me to your shows. Your biggest supporter is ever ready to report to duty.

Esmeralda how is my dog Dondy? Does he still give you much trouble as he did before? or have you warmed his heart the way you did mine.
Esmeralda do you still think of me? Am I forgotten memory already? Do you still drop flowers for me and cry with my picture clunched to your chest? Esme have you moved on?
I wonder if Geoffery now knows your home. I wonder if he makes you supper on Sunday evenings. I wonder if he checks up on you to get to you. Was our grieve an instrument to bring you both closer? Esmeralda has he taken my place?

If I get hold of a clock, I’ll rewind time. To that night when I hadn’t stepped out. When I stormed off your place angrily. When you called my name. Esmeralda I should have answered. I wouldn’t have been hit by a car. I shouldn’t have. I wouldn’t have fought with death and lost. I shouldn’t have. Now I miss you Esmeralda and I can’t wait to see you soon because I never will. But I have loved you, I still love and I’ll always love you.
Esmeralda once again, how do you do?

Remember, you can clap up to 50 times. ☺️

--

--